Tom Freeman Wins Two Blues Best and Fairest

Tom Freeman, the dashing defender, narrowly won the Prahran Assumption best and fairest from skipper James Musster in a thrilling vote count at The Local, Port Melbourne, on Thursday September 28.

Freeman, 21, a classy half back flanker with a lethal left foot kick, trailed Musster all night but edged to the front to win by three votes after an outstanding grand final performance.

In his first season with the club since coming from Seymour, Freeman joined the Two Blues to play with his brother Dan. Freeman wins the Basil Cleary Medal and Sir Rupert Steele perpetual trophy. Midfielder Eric Kuret finished third, a remarkable effort considering he played only 11 games, and all were wins.

Freeman, Kuret and Musster were three of the Two Blues players named in the Division 2 Team Of The Year.

The others were centre half-back Tom Atwell, full-forward Ged Hogarth and ruckman Adam Sleight. Premiership coach Ash Mills was named coach of the Team Of The Year.

Paul 'Choppa' Donahoo won the Neale Daniher Most Courageous medal and will be proposed for life membership after 150 senior games and two premierships.

Paul 'Squizzy' Taylor was awarded the Len Reed Memorial best clubman award.



Best & Fairest (Basil Cleary Medal) & Sir Rupert Steele Trophy): Tom Freeman

Runner-Up Best and Fairest: James Musster

Coaches Award: Nathan Costin

Kim Smith Leading Goal Kicker: Ged Hogarth

Alf Blamey Players Player: Tom Freeman

Best Finals Player: Eric Kuret

Most Improved: John Stocker

Best First Year Player: Tom Atwell



Best & Fairest: Nathan McCulloch

Runner-Up: Evan Scicluna

Coaches Award: Ryley Conlan/Jimmy Brereton

Goal Kicking: Rick Ellis

Players Player: Nathan McCulloch

Best Finals Player: Blayne Dempsey


Neale Daniher Most Courageous Medal​: Paul Donahoo

Len Reed Memorial Best Clubman: Paul Taylor

Netball MVP: Adele Danastasio