Footy's finally back Saturday July 31



THE on-off-on-off back on again VAFA season will resume with round 15 this Saturday with Two Blues set play ladder leader Old Camberwell.

Prahran Assumption won the first round clash at Toorak Park But this promises to be an even tougher challenge away from home

It is a match impossible to predict, there will be players from both teams with niggling injuries who benefit from the three weeks rest yet some with long terms concerns lacking match practice.

Regardless it will be great to be back to the playing field again in this frustrating COVID affected season.

Supporters are reminded spectators are not permitted, only essential match day staff.

The VAFA has confirmed the rounds 13 and 14 have been abandoned meaning it will be a 14 game season plus finals.

The VAFA has directed the higher ranked club will host finals.



FOR those who may have read the Jon Anderson article in the Sunday Herald Sun earlier this month noting the players Brian Taylor coached in his  time as Two Blues coach from 1991-93 to now have AFL roles we present this compelling list from the past 30 years.


Kevin Sheedy, 50 games 1964-67 including 1966 premiership, former Richmond premiership player, Essendon premiership coach, coached Essendon for 635 games between 1981-2007 before taking on the job as the Giants' inaugural coach from 2012-13 and is now a member of the Essendon Football Club board

Colin Young, 5 games 1984, Perth based player manager

Greg Klenjans, 10 games, 1989, Richmond tackling and boxing coach

Dale Tapping, (pictured in his former role as PFC Community Sport Program mamaner) 105 games, 1984-91, Brisbane mid-field coach

Derek Hine, 39 games, 1984-1989, Prahran reserves premiership coach 1991, Southbank premiership coach 1997, Collingwood general manager list management

David Noble, 9 games 1992, North Melbourne coach

Mark Evans, 26 games 1988-91, Gold Coast chief executive

Paul Tuddenham,18 games, 1993-94, Collingwood FC past players president

Sam Pang, 51 games, half forward flank in Prahran’s 1999-2009 Team Of The Decade, Channel 7 Front Bar

Dan James, 105 games, 2011 premiership player, Melbourne FC head physiotherapist


Juniors now at AFL clubs

James Rowbottom (Sydney)

Max Holmes (Geelong)

Toby Bedford (Melbourne)

Abbie McKay (Carlton AFLW)




IT is 51 years since Prahran won the Victorian Football Association (VFA) First Division Premiership.

We missed the chance to celebrate that feat because of COVID restrictions last year but we will honour that team at this year’s Jack Morgans Luncheon on September 10 at Toorak Park. (More details soon).

Here are some reflections to background the history of the club leading into that premiership year courtesy of Marc Fiddian's book, "A history of the Prahran Football Club".

The 1970 flag was the first of three pennants in what evolved as the most successful era in the club’s history.


Following the Second Division VFA Premiership in 1966 ( which included Kevin Sheedy & Graeme McMahon who went on to be Essendon FC president whilst Sheedy was Essendon coach), the club was full of enthusiasm with the new Charles Lux Pavilion opened and a number of ex VFL players heading to Toorak Park.


Former Collingwood ruck-rover, Kevin Rose, was appointed playing coach in 1968, a huge coup as Rose was widely respected in VFL circles, and many quality recruits started to arrive....., Errol Hutchesson (Collingwood), Tom Marinko(West Perth & StKilda), John Bradley(Footscray), John Grange(Ballarat), star amateur ruckman, Rod Payne(Old Melbournians), John Caffyn(Hawthorn), Ken Raeburn(Geelong West) and Ken Jungwirth(Carlton & Melbourne).


After a strong season, we narrowly lost the 1968 Grand Final to Preston by 14 points. The Grand Final side also included other notable players, Wilf Dickeson,(ex Richmond), Norm Watson(ex Hawthorn), Don Williams(ex Melbourne & 1964 Premiership player), Dick Culpin, Peter McLaren, David Albiston, Maurie Bartlett( ex Melbourne), Graeme McMahon, Frank Power & Rodney Orr.


Season 1969 saw the loss of a number of key players for various reasons and despite being very competitive during the season, we sadly lost the final 4 games to end up 6th on the ladder.


The start of the 1970 season heralded the arrival of some established VFL stars including ex Melbourne greats Ken Emselle, Bryan Kenneally, Barrie Vagg and Brian Dixon ( all 1964 Melbourne Premiership players).

Dixon only played a handful of games and retired, whilst Barrie Vagg had ongoing knee issues.

However, Emselle and Kenneally went on to prove to be the team's most valuable pair of players. Indeed Emselle is named in the club’s Team Of The Century.

Both Ken and Bryan still continue to actively support the club.

Rob Dowsing, who also had VFL experience with Melbourne & South Melbourne, was another important recruit - his grandfather had captained Prahran in the 1900s!!.

So the 1970 season commenced with plenty of excitement & enthusiasm. 

VFA Premiers 1970. Prahran 17.18 (114) d Williamstown 10.10 (70)


UNFORTUNATELY several functions and re-unions have been cancelled due to the latest COVID lockdown.

We feel especially sorry for the organisers of the Ladies Luncheon who have been forced to cancel the day three times this year!

Regrettably our premier event for the year, the Team Of The Decade, has now been postponed twice but we are determined to hold the event at some stage, even if it is in 2022.

Stay tuned for any further arrangements following a club committee meeting this coming Monday.


PLEASE note amendments to our social calendar for the rest of the year.

July 28, Sports /auction night, cancelled

August 7, Team of the decade/2011 premiership reunion , postponed to a date to be fixed


August 7, LADIES LUNCHEON cancelled


September,10,  Jack Morgan’s luncheon, 1970 premiership re-union, Sam Kekovich MC

September 23, Presentation night date, venue tbc.